Poetry Friday014


Altar

Over and over
I drag it up and lay it down
Only to pick it up again,
And here I am, ashamed,
Hooked in,
Co-dependent.

Laying my Isaac down sounds noble,
Honourable
But, with coals glowing hot
On the altar,
My greedy fingers reach
To snatch back
The sacrifice.

I convince myself of another way,
With another lamb,
‘Cause this one is virtually unblemished
Strangely precious,
Somehow larger than life.

And although I know a higher
Holier way awaits
On the other side of the flames,
I choose to trade redemption
For burnt fingers
And slightly charred
Remains.

Lesley-Anne Evans

Illustration: Rembrandt – The Sacrifice of Isaac

One thought on “Poetry Friday014

Leave a Reply

