Jackie


Sometimes I shake my head in disbelief, not knowing the whole story but knowing the weight of some details that are almost unbearable to hear. There is such resilience to the human spirit, and I pray that Jackie does not give up, but God continues to bring enough, just enough, to her. The sacred trust of story. Thank you, Jackie.

holding out hope

Jackie, 30

I feel like I’m a thousand years old some days. People come to me for help and someone to talk to, but they pass by and don’t seem to notice when I’m crying. I don’t get a break. Some days it feels like it goes from bad to catastrophic. I don’t want to wake up some days. I go to bed crying and wake up crying.

There have been some good times. Until last year I had a home for three years. Once I was clean for 4 1/2 years. I worked for a long time as a dishwasher in the Leon drop-in centre before it closed. There’s not many times I can say I was genuinely happy, but when I remember back to when I was living with my adopted Dad in Penticton, I was really happy then.

I started using when I was 13 and having…

View original post 238 more words

Leave a Reply

