Endings and beginnings


There’s so much to say, yet in honesty I lack the inspiration to write. A dullness persists. I’ve had a few tough weeks, and trying to move forward is tough. But, I’m determined to do so. I begin with a click of the mouse and the keyboard sings out a few words. It’s a start.

First, here’s everything in a nutshell;

My dog Buddy died (of cancer, age 10).

My desire to write died (of grief, lack of focus, energy, age 5).

My Uncle Dave died (of cancer, age 70).

I lose and gain ground daily.

I determine to meet with God, clear the air, find some closure.

God meets me.

God reminds me.

God defines me.

I begin again.

Presenting Emmy… the new addition to our family… 2-1/2 year old GSP (German Shorthaired Pointer) from a background of neglect… skinny, no manners, but brimming over with joy and with a completely open heart to all of us.

A tangible reminder of beginnings, although you know me well enough to realize that I’m not just talking about new dogs… we have the opportunity and potential to begin in many new ways every day, as God’s mercies are fresh every morning.

Here’s what I’m taking with me as I step into what’s next in the broader sense;

Hope,

God,

relationships,

an expectant heart,

thankfulness.

In the immortal words of Dr. Seuss,

“Don’t cry because it’s over. Smile because it happened.”

3 thoughts on “Endings and beginnings

  1. My heart is so connected to yours right now. The ache, the pain, the loss. Somehow, something will never be the same again. Yet there is the word NEW…RESTORE. But I know we are not ready for those until the wound heals and the scab eventually falls off. Careful not to pick at the scab too soon. It needs to be ready. I hate it when I say these words to my children, such a cliche..but so true. “It will soon be alright!”
    with so much love..Heidi

Leave a Reply

