Heavenly creatures…


This week in particular, because of our circumstances, I’m been drawn to open my Bible many times, highlighter in hand, in an attempt to come to terms with what God has planned for his creatures, after their time on this earth is complete. I’ve been seeking comfort. I’ve been chasing after hope. Because, as convinced as I am that God has a plan for an eternal future with those of us who love him, I’m also convinced that he did not create the natural world, and all the incredible creatures in it, on a passing whim. There is always purpose in what God does.

I have been able to find verses that point to a God who cares about his creatures, who created them to bring him and us pleasure, who longs to bring them into his perfect kingdom, and who relies upon us to care for them until that time.

I share all this with you knowing that I am just merely touching the surface, yet I do so because that is enough for me. Over and over again I’ve experienced God blowing my socks off, in ways profoundly greater than I could ever hope for or imagine (Ephesians 3:20) So, I’m certain that these thoughts of mine are a far cry from God’s divine answer and plan. Again, just enough for me to hope.

So, Bible scholar I’m not, but some of the scripture verses I came across speak about animals, from the beginnings in Genesis, to the visions of eternity in Revelation. And, like every other matter of faith, I choose to believe, based upon the indications of scripture, that my God loves each and every animal that he made, perhaps most especially the ones he chose to be in the most intimate of relationships with us, the crown of creation.

Companion animals are unique and show us a pure unconditional love that we experience nowhere else on earth. How like God, that he would give us these beautiful creatures to allow us to experience God love in a real way. Anyone who has ever had a cat or a dog knows what I mean by adoration, loyalty, love, understanding, generosity, selflessness, and utter devotion. Companions like this are not to be found in the human realm. As much as a mother loves her child,  even that version of unconditional love comes with flaws and issues that require a huge amount of grace.

So, here are some verses for your own consideration. I’d like to know what you think. I’m standing firm on what I know to be the character of God, who loves us and his creatures without words.

Heaven is my hope and gives me comfort and meaning at this time of loss. Maybe one day we will have another heavenly creature in our family, but Buddy remains in our hearts and in our hope to walk with him again on the streets of gold.

“The LORD is good to all; he has compassion on all he has made.” Psalms 145:9

“26Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they?” Matthew 6:26

“The creation waits in eager expectation for the sons of God to be revealed.” Romans 8:19

6The wolf also shall dwell with the lamb, and the leopard shall lie down with the kid; and the calf and the young lion and the fatling together; and a little child shall lead them… 9They shall not hurt nor destroy in all my holy mountain: for the earth shall be full of the knowledge of the LORD,” Isaiah 11: 6, 9
“Whenever the rainbow appears in the clouds, I will see it and remember the everlasting covenant between God and all living creatures of every kind on the earth.” Genesis 9:16

“Then I heard every creature in Heaven and earth, in underworld and sea, join in, all voices in all places, singing:

To the One on the Throne! To the Lamb!
The blessing, the honor, the glory, the strength,
For age after age after age.”  Revelation 5:

“That the creation itself will be liberated from it’s bondage to decay and brought into the glorious freedom of the children of God.” Romans 8:21

“18-21That’s why I don’t think there’s any comparison between the present hard times and the coming good times. The created world itself can hardly wait for what’s coming next. Everything in creation is being more or less held back. God reins it in until both creation and all the creatures are ready and can be released at the same moment into the glorious times ahead. Meanwhile, the joyful anticipation deepens.

22-25All around us we observe a pregnant creation. The difficult times of pain throughout the world are simply birth pangs. But it’s not only around us; it’s within us. The Spirit of God is arousing us within. We’re also feeling the birth pangs. These sterile and barren bodies of ours are yearning for full deliverance. That is why waiting does not diminish us, any more than waiting diminishes a pregnant mother. We are enlarged in the waiting. We, of course, don’t see what is enlarging us. But the longer we wait, the larger we become, and the more joyful our expectancy.”  Romans 8:18-25

“They will be his people and God himself will be with them and be their God. He will wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away.” Revelation 21: 3,4

3 thoughts on “Heavenly creatures…

  1. I really needed to read these words tonight after a day of grieving. I feel selfish in being so emotional about the passing of KC but she was put in our lives for a reason and even her leaving us has served a purpose. We look at KC’s unconditional love and see a glimpse of what our great God is like. We get upset and frustrated at the things she did that weren’t to our liking yet she was there, every hour of every day, willing to give us her love. She will be missed dearly but the verses you have quoted will give me strength to face the upcoming days. Thank you for sharing the precious moments of your life that we may learn from them and take away something precious from them.

  2. Pingback: Remembering Buddy… | Buddy breathing

Leave a Reply

