Forgiveness defined


I spoke with my Dad.  He and I have good conversations. Dad’s my go-to person when I need spiritual guidance based on solid Bible teaching. Dad doesn’t just read his Bible, he studies it on a regular basis. He reads what other writers have to say about it, reads Bible commentaries and concordances and prays for God’s truth to be revealed. So you can understand that I have a lot of respect for his opinion on things of a spiritual nature.

This time I told him all about the forgiveness topic that I’m writing about, and asked his advice on how to best approach it. First thing he said to do was to come to terms with definitions.

So, taking out our old red Websters New Collegiate well-worn dictionary (that I inherited as part of our marriage contract), I turned to these words in reference to the root word ‘forgive’;

Forgive: 1. to cease to feel resentment against (an offender): PARDON (~one’s enemies)

2. a: to give up resentment of or claim to requital for (~an insult)

b: to grant relief from payment of (~a debt) ~vi: to grant forgiveness

Forgiveness: the act of forgiving: PARDON

As the word PARDON was jumping out at me in capital letters, I looked next at it. Does anyone know why certain words are written in caps? Anyway;

Pardon: 1: the excusing of an offence without exacting a penalty

2: INDULGENCE

3 a: a release from the legal penalties of an offence b: an official warrant of remission of penalty

4: excuse or forgiveness for a fault, offence, or discourtesy.

For today I’m going to let those definitions simmer a little bit. I’m going to consider how this new information found in  definitions affects the answers to the questions of my last posting on forgiveness.

Any thoughts… any revelations?

Lesley-Anne

2 thoughts on “Forgiveness defined

  1. It was most enlightening to see the definition of forgiveness. I think we often say we forgive someone, and though we do intend to forgive them, somehow we still hold onto a little resentment. This brings me to one of my favourite quotes. “Resentment is like drinking poison and waiting for the other person to die.” I truly believe the only person that suffers when you resent someone, is yourself. And I believe it leads to many health issues and diseases. I think it’s something we all need to work on at one time or another. My goodness…being human is a lot of work! :)

  2. Well done! I see the word “resentment” in there and it just jumped out at me. I speak a lot about my “resentment” boxes but I have never the two words – resentment and forgiveness-together, but that makes it so clear and visual for me!
    We usually talk about anger but not the bitter poison of resentment which I believe is even worse, because it stays hidden, and growing like an ugly lethal weapon.
    Thanks for your continued inspiring writing.
    Hugs..Heidi

Leave a Reply

